And Then You Walked By…

I was fine with the way my life was going. I had a great job in the city working for a startup right on Park Ave. I had just become single again after my last relationship blew up in my face. I wasn’t really worried about it though because I was focusing on my career. Everything was good.

Then I got laid off. Not the easiest day of my life but it wasn’t anything I had done personally plus my CEO said she would give me a good recommendation for any job I applied for.

I went back to my apartment and I just relaxed and tried to soak it all in. My mom called and I told her what happened. She told me to come visit her and I did. I spent some time there and she told me to move back home. She said I could live in her house as she was living with her boyfriend and the house was sitting there. I took the opportunity. I gave in to my pride and I moved home.

This time would be different though. The house, was under my command. I lived here, alone. That’s what I’ve been doing. Living. Since I got laid off from my job, it took me only three weeks to find a new career. An even better fit for me with more money and better perks. Can’t complain about that.

So I moved home, got a new job and then we started talking. We were friends before this, having a few interactions here and there. Then something changed and we went on a date. Then a second date. 5 or 6 dates later and we were officially an “item.”

Then I bought myself a car because I needed a new one. It was a great deal and I couldn’t pass it up. 11 years newer than the car I had previously. Who could say no?

So in June, I was starting my life on Park Ave in NYC dealing with the endings of a relationship. By September, I had gained a house, a new job, a significant other and a new car. Whoever says things happen for a reason couldn’t have been more right and I couldn’t be happier about it. You can hold up on this chapter for a while life, this is my favorite so far.

98164466848335250_C4DOB4O4_c

Leave a Reply

