Why Do We Always Have To Be Rated PG?

If you know me personally, none of this will come as a surprise to you. For those of you who don’t though, let me tell you a little bit about myself. My life isn’t a rated PG movie. It’s pretty much anywhere from an “R” to an “NC17” depending on the day. I tend to fly off the handle a lot and I like to get loud. I stand for things I believe in and I’m not afraid to voice that opinion. I’m Italian and I’m from New Jersey. What’s your excuse?

Anyways, I work in the field of digital media/communications. I go to work everyday, do my work well, get done everything I need to and then I go home. What I do on my own time should be really none of anyone’s business. I was always told that if it doesn’t affect you directly and it has nothing to do with you, mind your own business and keep your mouth shut.

What I don’t understand though is why it’s considered bad to not be PG on things like social media. If you are on my social media list such as Facebook, you see the real me. You see the pictures that were took of me this weekend while I was playing softball, hanging with friends or at the bar. You see me dressed up at weddings, out at parties, in sweatpants at home, when I’m sober and when I’m blacked out. I’m a dude in my twenties having the time of my life. That is who I am. Why can’t I show that face to the world? Personally, I don’t care what my boss or coworkers are doing when I’m not with them. Why don’t I care? Because it’s none of my business. They have their own life, I have mine. Unless something I’m doing is affecting Imagemy work, I should be allowed to post what I want and do what I want. I am a human being. I have emotions. I get angry, sad, mad, happy, overjoyed and every other one I forgot to mention. If I am writing about something that pisses me off on social media, I’m doing it because I’m venting and it’s helping me get over the process. I would say it’s better than me taking a baseball bat to someones head. Correct me if I’m wrong about that.

The world isn’t a PG place. There are people killed everyday from violence as we are a naturally aggressive species. Survival of the fittest is why us as humans live in brick house, work in concrete buildings and drive vehicles. We aren’t building nests in the wood to survive. I feel as though I should be allowed to say what I want and say what I feel whenever I want too. I was told to always be myself and not compromise that for anything. So I don’t act differently in front of anyone and I do what I want. I’m not hurting anyone by it and truthfully, I feel like I may be a breathe of fresh air because I’m not opposed to debating someone on something I disagree with. Doesn’t mean that you are always wrong or I am always right, but I speak up. I know that sometimes I upset people with what I say and how I say it but guess what? That’s me. If you don’t like it, remove me from your friends list because chances are, you are too uptight for my taste anyways.

Leave a Reply

