Malibu “Babies” & Lady Gaga

If you ask my Grandma what her favorite drink is, she will tell you she loves Malibu “babies.” The first time I heard it, I laughed so hard I couldn’t bother to correct her and tell her they were called “baybreezes.” This is also the woman who called the name of the clothing store “Aeroprostate” instead of “Aeropostale.” She had a charm about her. Unfortunately, my Grandma or “Young_Mami” as my friend Carlos called her, passed away this weekend so I am writing this blog posting in honor of her.

My Grandma lived for two things; my Grandpa and my Aunt Doreen. She loved to take care of them and did everything in her power to make sure they were never anything but happy. My Grandpa passed away when I was in eighth grade and my Aunt Doreen passed away about a year and a half ago. The one thing I have to think is that they were up there waiting for her to arrive. I know that she is in a better place and she is no longer in pain.

One of the best memories I have of my Grandma is being at my cousin’s wedding. She was sitting there and a Lady Gaga song came on and she got excited. The song was Poker Face. Now at this point, my Grandma couldn’t really walk without a walker but I went over, picked her up and held her so she could stand and we danced to the song. I remember the smile on her face as she got to dance with me. So of course my best memory of my Grandma involves Lady Gaga. The beset part about this was that every time my Aunt Dee got up from the table, Grandma would steal her drink; her Malibu Baby and would drink it. What a prankster she was.

We didn’t always have the closest relationship but I do think that the past year or two brought us closer. I would go over there sometimes just to say “Hi” and have a soda with her. I just want her to know that I loved her very much as I know she does. Rest in Peace Grandma and give Grandpa and Aunt Doreen a big hug for me.

Image

4 thoughts on “Malibu “Babies” & Lady Gaga

Leave a Reply

