Hard Work & Determination.

My parents raised a good son.

I am one of those people who believes that no matter where you came from, what you’ve done or where you have been, you can change your life. I realize that I am young still but I do believe that with hard work and determination, you can change your life for the better and never let your old life hold you back.

I hear people all the time say that “kids from broken homes never make it.” Have you met me? Technically speaking, I am a “kid from a broken home.” My parents got divorced about the time I went into middle school. Not once though, did my parents ever put their own interests above mine. Yes, they may not have been able to stay with each other but I never suffered because of it. It may have actually been a good thing. I was able to have two different places I could call “home.” I was also able to meet new people because of it. I was also old enough to understand what was going on and why they couldn’t stay together. I rather have seen them alone and happy then stay together for my sake and be miserable.

It’s funny now because if you look at my mom and dad, you wouldn’t believe that they couldn’t get along at one point. There are two things that my parents agree on: myself and softball. I run a co-ed softball team and the proudest moment I’ve had so far was that my mom was on the pitchers mound pitching, my dad was playing first base and I was able to make a great sliding catch in the outfield. I love the idea that I can play ball with both of my parents and enjoy it. Not many people are lucky enough to say that.

I was also told that “because my parents are both blue collar workers, I will neve be anything more then a blue collar worker.” Now you people are just making me laugh. My mom is a postal worker who has held some pretty respectable positions. She is a blue collar worker though. That hasn’t stopped her for making care packages for the active duty members who are serving our country overseas. She would go shopping at the grocery store and spend more money on them then she did on us. Not because she had too, but because she wanted too. She also helped with promotion of breast cancer awareness stamps. She recieved many awards for that as well. She works very hard for the money she makes and she has a lot to show for it. She helped put me through college, she has a beautiful house, a wonderful dog and she is happy. That’s the most important part, she’s happy. My father is a retired police officer and an Army veteran. He also is very proud of his background, as he should be. He worked hard and he made a difference in a lot of peoples lives. I can tell you stories about the medals he won for saving people’s lives.

On the other hand, I am not really like either of them. I studied hard in school and I went to a great college. I loved every minute of Penn State and I worked hard to earn my degree from there. I now work two jobs because I want to be better than even I thought I could ever be. I am a hardworking individual and I am determined to make it in the world of public relations. Yes, I would love an office job as an executive in the future where I am making great amounts of money but that takes hard work and determination. Both of these things I learned from my parents, who have a completely different background then I do.

From my parents, I have also learned something else. There is one thing that I want to be when I grow up. If I can achieve this, then the rest is really just extra. I want to be happy. Whether it be single, married, divorced, a father or whatever, I want to be happy. I want to wake up every morning because my life is better than my dreams. I want to wake up and be happy to be living the life I am and be happy with who I am. Nothing else matters and the rest will eventually fall into place.

Leave a Reply

