I’m Still A Proud Nittany Lion

If you know anything about me, you know that I am obsessed entirely with Penn State. I graduated from there and I have more pride about going there than anyone else. I bleed blue and white. I danced for the kids at Hershey. I lost my voice at football games with 110,000 brothers and sisters. I went to Tampa for teh Outback Bowl against Tennessee. I know that this is a dark time for us PSU-ers but there are some things that I would like to make clear with the general public.

First off, no one and I mean no one, thinks what Jerry Sandusky is accused of is okay. There is no one at Penn State being like “Oh he’s accused of molesting little boys, that’s okay with us.” Trust me, no one feels that way. We, as a University, raised 250,000 for RAINN (Rape, Abuse, & Incest National Network) after all this came out. We do stand behind our school. The media has come in and made a circus out of our school and has said some hateful things about us. One apple shouldn’t spoil it for the whole bunch. I realize that in most cases it does, but the media should have helped to be our ally as a University, not an enemy against us. The media could have reported great things about Penn State while reporting the negativity of Jerry Sandusky. For example, news and media flooded Penn State when all this was going on. When Joe Pa was fired and he later passed away, there was media coverage everywhere. But when Penn State students raised over $10 million, yes I said Penn State students raised over $10 million, in one year for pedatric cancer and the Hershey Medical Center through THON (Penn State IFC/PHC Dance Marathon,) where were the news outlets then? That’s right, no where to be found. That is completely unfair to the men and women who bust their behinds for a year straight standing on street corners in the cold, calling every business in the country and going to hospitals to visit sick children, where some don’t make it. It’s very hurtful to see that such a difference that is being made is going unnoticed because it’s not as juicy as the Jerry Sandusky scandal is.

On another note, people can still be fans of Penn State and support the institution without being tied up with Sandusky. After it all happened, I went to Penn State that weekend for the football game. I saw people wearing “Pedophile State University” shirts on. Seriously? Not only is that unacceptable, that’s completely classless. Have some respect. That is taking the situation to a whole different level. Penn State still has much to be proud of and when someone makes a statement like that, it just adds salt to the open wound. I’m proud of the accomplishments I have done at Penn State and what the school has done as a whole. The things I listed above about THON are incredible.

Finally, when the media says that it’s the “Penn State Abuse Scandal,” you are talking about me. You are talking about me, my fraternity brothers, my THON dance partners, my community, my friends, the alumni who have paved the way before us, and the future alumni that are making a difference now. That’s not fair. I didn’t abuse anyone. I’m not part of the scandal and neither are any of my friends. But calling it the “Penn State Abuse Scandal” will help you sell more papers and may get your story on live tv. That’s how sick and twisted our media is. It sickens me to know that in their minds it’s “anything to sell a story.” And what was the outcome because of it? Our head coach, who dedicated his life to the school, he died. I know I wouldn’t want that on my hands. But then again, anything to sell a story, right media?

Thanks. I hope that you are never faced with something that effects your life like this has for all of us Penn Staters. I will say one thing though, I look at what we have done that’s good and that by far outweighs the bad. I am, have been, and will forever always be A PROUD NITTANY LION!

 **I wrote this before he was convicted of 45 out of the 48 counts he was charged with. He will be going to jail for a long time. 442 years to be exact. Penn State will never be the same again but it’s how we rise from the ashes and bring back our name that will define us as a university.

Leave a Reply

